#Reverb10 Day 9 – Party!


December 9Party. What social gathering rocked your socks off in 2010? Describe the people, music, food, drink, clothes, shenanigans.

2010 was the year I turned 21. I’m pretty sure anyone who’s been there can vouch for me when I say it’s been one of the best years of my life, not because I can drink legally, but because I finally have the freedom to go to a restaurant and just have a drink or two with a meal.

Though, let’s be honest. The party aspect has treated me pretty nicely this year.

I’ve had a blast this year, but one of the best times I’ve had was spent in Chicago this year. About a month ago, my chapter of PRSSA went on a senior trip to Chicago to visit agencies, such as Burson-Marsteller and Golin Harris, as well as the Boeing company and the non-profit organization Back On My Feet. What was great about this, however, was when we got to go out for dinner and drinks with some of the PR professionals we’d met during the day.

Connecting with people who are so successful in their field with so many stories and words of wisdom to share truly made our time something to remember. I’ve been to many parties, but there was something to be said about having a great dinner at Four Farthings filled with great conversation. It really surprised me how willing everyone was to let their hair down and get informal with us to relate to us not as PR professional-to-student, but person-to-person.

It may not have been anything wild or crazy, but to do something more laid back and casual was actually pretty fun. Everyone really enjoyed themselves, and it was enough to convince me to move out to Chicago for work as soon as I possibly can.

If you get the chance, don’t be afraid to talk to possible mentors or advisers on a more casual level to get to know them outside of what you might find in the office. You’ll be surprised what you learn, and more importantly, happy that you did.

Leave a Reply

