#Reverb10 Day 10 – Wisdom


December 10Wisdom. What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out?

Hands down, the wisest decision I made this year has to be my decision to finally get involved in PRSSA. Prior to 2010, I had spent a lot of my time a part of a social fraternity and nothing but it. I got a lot of experience out of it, experience I wouldn’t trade for the world, but I didn’t understand the world of public relations as I should have. Getting involved in PRSSA changed that for me completely.

Not only did I immediately begin to grow as a PR professional, but also as a person. The organization challenged me to be better than I was, giving me goals to achieve that I never thought I’d be able to accomplish. Having joined and become a paid member in January, it was my determination and devotion to the group that inspired me to run for Vice-President of the 2010-2011 school year. Though I had only been an active member of the group for less than a full semester at the time of elections, my drive to be on E-board and make a difference for our group got me elected as VP. It was one of my proudest moments.

Being in PRSSA has made me a more responsible individual, and I couldn’t be happier. I have done a lot of growing up in the last year, and I know for a fact a lot of that had to do with getting involved in the group. It’s been an honor, and a blessing, to be in the group and contribute to something that has helped me grow as a person. I wouldn’t change it for the world!

2 Comments on “#Reverb10 Day 10 – Wisdom

  1. Good decision.

    I joined a professional organization this year myself–SHRM–but I can’t say yet if it was wise. I haven’t made the investment in it that you have in yours.

Leave a Reply

