#Reverb10 Day 11 – 11 Things


 

December 1111 Things. What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life?

11 things my life doesn’t need in 2011. That’s quite the prompt, if you ask me. I could tell you stories about what I could use in 2011, one of which being a full-time job so I can have a steady income, but to say what I don’t need isn’t always as easy. Even still, I’ve got some ideas.

  • CMU Parking Tickets: Alright, if you go to Central (and probably any college for that matter) you know the parking enforcement is no joke. The tickets aren’t that much, but when you get more than one they definitely add up. In the last week alone, I’ve gotten two — almost three, but I managed to get out of one. Walking to class from my apartment sounds like a great idea, but sometimes you just want to drive! If I could avoid more parking tickets, that’d make my wallet a little thicker.
  • Retail Work: There is nothing more irritating than working in retail. I’ve been doing it for years, since I was 15, and I’m just happy to say that one thing I really don’t need is to do it any more. I could do without getting yelled at because we don’t have your size or because the lady before you took the last one. I’d rather get yelled at for something I have control over, at least then I can take responsibility for my actions.
  • New LOST episodes: This isn’t me saying I don’t want LOST in my life after its series finale in May, but this is just me saying I can finally move on. To me, this show was — in a word — EPIC. It was awesome from beginning to finish and I was tuned in every Wednesday (or Thursday when they moved the night). When it ended, I had no idea how I’d move on because there was no other show like it on TV. Now, more than half a year later, I can finally say it ended well and I can relive it on DVD. I’ll have the collector’s edition, don’t you worry!
  • Laziness: We all like to be lazy and I’m no exception. After a busy day, sometimes all you want to do is just sit back, relax, and do something mindless like watch TV. For me, though, I also really like being busy and having a lot of things to do. I like to feel like I’m accomplishing things, so I could do without being lazy. Relaxing is one thing, but being lazy? Not so much!
  • Allergies: This one is kind of wishful thinking, but it’s SO ANNOYING when you’re trying to get some things done and you just can’t stop sniffling! This is happening to me right now, as we speak, because I’m stuffed up. I could really, truly, beyond the shadow of a doubt do without the allergies that plague my life. Maybe I’d save money since I won’t have to buy so much Kleenex.
  • Ke$ha: This one is also wishful thinking, but come on people. Ke$ha has no substance, her music is garbage, and her image is worse. It’s one thing to party to her music, because she’s got a lot of good party songs, but if you’re listening to her for the love of music you’re missing out on true depth. Go pick up a MUSE CD, or maybe Three Days Grace’s earlier stuff. That’s depth. Ke$ha is image, and even her image is gross.
  • Car Trouble: In 2010, I had to take my car into the shop four times in four months. I bet you can imagine how much of a bank breaker that can be. This one, I think, speaks for itself.
  • Negative Influences: Everyone knows those people who are just constantly nagging at you, or trying to get you to do something that you don’t want to do or you know you shouldn’t, like party when you have to work in the morning. Sometimes it’s nice to throw your inhibitions to the window and do what you want instead of what you should, but as I’m getting older I’m starting to see this needs to happen few and far in between and you need to be smarter about when to do it. I’m going on twenty-two in a couple of months and it’s really time to start acting like it. After all, I’m closer to being forty than I am to the beginning of it all. Doesn’t mean I can’t still enjoy my youth, but I’ve just got to be smarter about things.
  • Terrible Movie Sequels: How many different sequels do we have to see from the Big Momma’s House franchise before America realizes the joke is stale? I don’t care about another Mission Impossible movie and I definitely don’t care about 5nal Destination 3D (Does anyone else think they need to re-evaluate the title of the movie? Or, at least, take a second look at ‘5nal’?). I’m looking forward to Transformers 3, and even Scream 4. The terrible sequels, however, need to stop.
  • The ‘Music’ in MTV: Not like we haven’t been without the music in MTV for a few years now, but I can finally do without it. I couldn’t tell you the last time I’ve seen a music video on MTV, which used to bother me a lot. Now that they’ve sliced their ‘M’ in half, I guess that was their way of saying the music is long gone. It bothered me at first, but look at the line-up of television shows they have. It’s all about being pregnant or a tool, and while those shows are entertaining, they don’t even remotely have anything to do with music anymore. Suddenly, too, I no longer need it. I have other ways to find good music, and half the time the music MTV would play isn’t really good anyway. I think I can finally move on! Whoo!
  • Michigan: I have been born and raised in Michigan, but I don’t belong here. I need the big city life, I need better weather, I need something more than what I’m getting here. I love this place as home, but I have been eager to get out of here for years. Now, with graduation coming up in a year, I need to start trying to make the move happen. After my trip to Chicago, I’ve pretty much decided it’s time to get out of here. The sooner, I think, the better.

So there you have it! The 11 things I don’t need in 2011, even though I’m more than sure some of them I’ll be suffering through regardless. Doesn’t mean I can’t dream out loud, though, does it?

Leave a Reply

