#Reverb10 Day 13 – Action!


December 13Action. When it comes to aspirations, it’s not about ideas. It’s about making ideas happen. What’s your next step?

I pretty much decided a month ago that I need to get to Chicago by any means necessary, because that’s where I see my post-grad life growing the best while giving me the surroundings I’ve always felt were more my style. The big city lights without being too big like Manhattan is what I want, and even though I wouldn’t mind being somewhere a little warmer like L.A., Chicago is a happy medium so that I can be close to my family and friends from home.

So, my ideas to make it happen? Get an internship in Chicago for the summer of 2011 no matter what. Paid would be preferred, but even unpaid would be reasonable. Nothing ever comes in this life without risk, and if I don’t take the chance to make sure this happens, I’ll be wishing I had for the rest of my life. My actions to make this happen are:

  • Research, research, research! Look all over the internet, be it LinkedIn or other web sites, for possibles jobs and internships in Chicago I would qualify for.
  • Plan ahead! Time to start saving money and figuring out where I’m going to be able to stay. I have a couple of friends out in that area that I could stay with to get started, so I might be luckier than some would be.
  • Network! Now is the time to start talking to people on Twitter, LinkedIn, and through blogs. Networking is already one of my favorite things to do, because you never know who could help you when or where, but it’s going to be crucial to me moving out of state.

Doing all three of these things will get me on a path to get where I want to go this summer, which will hopefully keep me there for the long run in the future. Chicago, here I come!

4 Comments on “#Reverb10 Day 13 – Action!

  1. Wishing you the best of luck in this action item. Chicago is one of my favorite cities on the planet. I see nothing but brightness for your future there!

Leave a Reply

