Lessons Learned


I love using StumbleUpon, not just because I find some of the funniest websites, but because I also find some very inspiring ones as well. Sometimes, no matter what you think you know about life, there’s always more to learn. In my Stumble today, I found a blog post from Eric Allen Bell about 5 lessons you could learn to treat other people better.

  1. “Know the cleaning lady” – It’s not just because she cleans up after you that you should know her, but because everyone who comes into your life does so to enrich it in some way. You can’t presume someone who works below you doesn’t deserve your acknowledgment just because you don’t chat regularly. I’ve always tried to make it a point to be friendly to any and everyone no matter the circumstance (even though I’ll admit it is not always easy when you meet someone so disagreeable). Who knows what that person can do for you, be it by offering an opportunity for you to take advantage of, or simply opening your eyes to something you might have never realize. It’s crucial to give everyone a chance.
  2. “Pickup In The Rain” – Being courteous can go a long way and I’m a firm believer in karma. Bad karma will bite you in the butt every time, but good karma can bring about blessings at the perfect time. The story mentioned on the site is a prime example of that for you never know who you’re going to meet, and you certainly have no idea what that person’s story is. Being generous, being human, can go a long way for someone. Don’t do it with hopes of personal gain, but try and do it out of the goodness of your heart. Open a door for someone who might be a few strides behind you, offer a smile to someone on the street when you walk by them. Small things can sometimes make a world of difference.
  3. “Remember Those Who Serve” – We do a great job in this country of recognizing those who risk their lives for us by serving in the military, but how often do we genuinely thank those who bring us our drinks or clean our clothes at the dry cleaners? I always try to make it a point to tip my servers, and I make it an even stronger point to tip generously for exceptional service. Though, it kills me when people I know will either forget to tip or simply decide not to for whatever reason. You have to remember that they’re not just servers, they’re people, and they’re trying to make a living the same as we are.
  4. “The Obstacles In Our Path” – This is something I’ve come to really respect. Every obstacle that comes into our path has the potential to only make you a better person, for that which does not kill you makes you stronger. Just like every person who comes into your life does so for a reason, every obstacle presented is there to make you tougher. It takes a strong person to beat their obstacles back long enough to slide by, but it takes a wise one to overcome it completely to never fall victim to the same scenario again.
  5. “Giving When It Counts” – Being selfless is a trait unfamiliar to most of us as human beings as everyone is always out for #1. Though, giving when asked (or even without being asked) can be one of the most fulfilling and rewarding feelings we’ll ever come across. It’s wrong to expect our friends and family to help us out in our times of need when we wouldn’t willingly do the same for them. The art of giving selflessly is a learned one, but when mastered, you can truly find the meaning behind the phrase “it’s better to give than receive.”

I wish I could say I am perfect at practicing the advice mentioned on Bell’s blog, but I am only human. I do know, however, that reading the blog inspired me to work harder at being a better human being. It may take weeks, it may take months, and it may take years, but hopefully as time passes I can one day be proud of myself for showing these traits in myself on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

