What is social media?


This semester, I’ve got a social media class. If you’ve been living under a rock for the last decade (is that comfortable?), you might not know what social media is. In my own words, social media is the modern way of connecting with people, both people you know and people you don’t, to expand your network. For people, it’s networking on steroids. For businesses, it’s customer service on hyper drive. It’s a method of sharing your knowledge, your interests, your desires; it’s how people share their story, but most importantly, themselves.

Social media isn’t just a way to tell your friends what you’re doing at one moment. It’s more than just an avenue for keeping in touch with the people you graduated high school from. Social media is a revolution. Don’t believe me? Check out this video.

For me, I realized how innovative social media was sometime in my freshman year of college. I started, like a lot of people, on LiveJournal. Then, I went to MySpace. Finally, I found myself on Facebook. Since 2007, I’ve been heavily active on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, FourSquare, GetGlue, and more recently Google+. While all four serve different purposes in my eyes, I’d like to say I have a handle on and prefer Facebook and Twitter the most. Facebook, to me, is more personal, strictly used for the people I actually know (which is why I don’t make myself easy to find). Twitter, however, I open up to any and everyone. It’s my way of expanding the network I’m in and meeting knew people with their own, unique stories.

In my social media class, I hope to learn how to use other platforms I may have never even heard of. I know of Delicious, Tumblr, and Flickr, for example, but those are platforms I’ve yet to dive into (except for the occasional GIF search). I look forward to figuring out new platforms, as well as getting better at managing older ones, until I can work on being comfortable enough in the social media world to call myself a Social Media Guru.

Actually, on second thought . . . I’ll just stick with being an enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

