Netflix: My Take on the Controversy


Yup, that’s me.

So in my very first YouTube video ever (excluding my OK Go video from high school that has vanished from the internet somehow), my social media professor has me explaining the recent Netflix changes to their audience as I might have done it were I in the shoes of the CEO. By now, I’m sure you’ve heard of the recent Netflix controversy from this summer, the blog post that worsened it, and the solution issued not long ago (and maybe the results of the controversy have reached you by now as well?). In the video above, I addressed the concerns in a spur-of-the-moment video on behalf of Netflix.

My video may not have been the most professional, nor the best quality, but to me that didn’t matter. As you can see in the video made by Netflix CEO and who was to be the Qwikster CEO, their video wasn’t the best quality either. The thing I worked toward that I thought the original video lacked was relatable voice. In the original video, there was a feeling of scripted dialogue, condescending tone, and awkward human interaction. I wanted to make sure my video felt more conversational, alleviating the feeling of being talked down to or being fed a bunch of scripts to convince my audience that I’m doing the right thing.

I left out all details about games being available for at-home delivery, because truthfully, I don’t know if the company is going to continue that business venture. Still, I tried to acknowledge the heated tones of the Netflix users to show them that I was listening, yet be confident in answering their cries by restoring to them the Netflix they know and love. I did make sure to explain that the prices needed to remain the same, though I do wish I was a little more sympathetic to that idea so that they understand I’m not trying to crook them out of their cash by having both plans.

For me, the original Netflix video tried to create the scenario that you, the customer, were sitting with the CEOs of Netflix and Qwikster as they explained their decision. The flaw in doing that was how contrived the dialogue and explanation came across (and the length of the video). It didn’t feel natural, so for my video, I wanted to liven it up and be a little more spontaneous. Had I done it in more than one take, I think I might have nailed my mood easily. But for the sake of making a point, and for the sake of time since we were in class, I decided a one-take shot would do. It’s not perfect, but as we learned with this Netflix debacle over the last three months, it’s hard to achieve the perfect outcome.

Leave a Reply

